Why is a Klingon warship like a good lie?

klingonI’ve been wondering for a while if my fondness for patterns has something to do with Asperger’s, but only a few days ago, I got to thinking that there might be something about the reverse — my not being able to impose order on things that have no pattern, the way other people seem to be able to do.

  1. I could never get into that game of seeing things in clouds.  They’re just clouds to me.
  2. I was very interested in astronomy, but, hard as I tried, I couldn’t see constellations.
  3. I’m SO glad I’ve never been given a Rorschach test.  Except for that Swallowtail Butterfly, they just look like inkblots to me. And the “sex” one looks like a Klingon warship.  Well, doesn’t it?  Rorschach_blot_06

However, after I got to thinking about that, I spent some time researching Rorschach tests.  I found some fascinating journal articles (admittedly, over my head, but the parts I understood are cool) one looking into the question of if Asperger’s is different from High Functioning Autism — http://deepblue.lib.umich.edu/bitstream/handle/2027.42/44611/10803_2005_Article_BF02179292.pdf

So, it doesn’t look like difficulty with Rorschach is a problem distinctive of either Asperger’s or autism.

iu_011I was telling a fellow Crazy Cat Lady about my Klingon and she said it looks like Bill the Cat to her.  In a racoon coat.  That strikes me as even more amusing than my Klingon.  I can sort of see it, but only if he were skinned and made into Bill the Rug.  Thbbft!

I’ve written elsewhere about my difficulty in lying.  Recently I was up half the night trying to come up with a good lie, and when I told someone else of my problem, she effortlessly gave me the perfect one.  It seemed so obvious, why couldn’t I think of it?

Coming up with a good lie is a lot like seeing things in inkblots.  You look at what’s there, then kind of loosen up and let what you want to be there reshape it.  I can’t seem to do that.  Reality keeps pushing through.

One of the theories about the mechanism of Autism/AS is that our neural filtering is insufficient.  That would explain why I find clothing tags and the neighbor’s lawn mower intolerable.  Would it also explain my literal-mindedness and difficulty lying?

Leave a Reply

