Brave New Big Brother World

keep-calm-softt-kitty-shirtOne fun thing about being an elderly SF fan is remembering when “1984” and “Space:1999” were visions of the future and marveling at how differently things turned out.

Did anyone ever write about a future where Big Brother’s intrusion into our lives was in the form of advertising?  I remember a few with all-pervasive advertising, but not so personally targeted.

I’m not spooked when I get on Facebook and see ads related to searches I’ve run on Amazon, ebay or Google (although it was funny to see what came up after I did some searches for a friend) but is Big Brother reading this new blog of mine?  That’s the only reason I can think of to keep showing me an ad for this shirt.

Leave a Reply

