The Journal of Academic T-Shirts

ShirtDesignI’m agonizing over another silly decision, but it’s gotten me to some pleasant nostalgia and another reason I identify with Sheldon.

The decision is I’m going to need to buy a shower curtain.  My original plan was to furnish my new house all in 21st Century Thrift Store (except for the new bed and new recliner) but when I thought specifically about the shower curtain, the idea of getting a Periodic Table one like Sheldon and Leonard’s came to me.  Wouldn’t that be too cool!  But that’s not really me, now.  If I’m not going to go with Thrifty, I’m more inclined toward Colorful.  Or, if I really want to indulge, ooh, I just love things that match!  I’m starting with an empty house that already has everything matching, so I’m tempted to splurge and buy new things in matching sets.ontogeny_recapitulates_phylogeny_biology_tshirt-rf4f42413d17244c89a17826f8f340875_804gs_512

Oops, that’s not where I meant this blog to go.  I was planning to go to the Periodic Table t-shirt I used to have.  Although none of Sheldon’s t-shirts are the same as any used to have, I wouldn’t be surprised if one of them appeared in future episodes.  Some of mine came from SF conventions, but also there was a mail-order company called the Journal of Academic T-Shirts.  I had a little weekend business, Starship Enterprises, selling at SF conventions, so I bought those t-shirts wholesale, and retailed them.

PH-2I have no pics.  That was the 80’s before digital cameras.  I don’t think I took pics at conventions.  I thought surely an image search would turn up art from those t-shirts, but while I can find some that are close, none are exactly the same.

In looking for these, I found other people blogging the same nostalgia.    http://elisem.livejournal.com/144383.html

Leave a Reply

